Frequently Asked Questions

  • If I purchase or trade in my car at a dealership and your office is closed do I have to purchase insurance for the car elsewhere?
    No, although in my years of experience many less than honest car salesmen might tell you this, the laws pertaining to insurance tell you different. In many cases people purchase vehicles late at night or on weekends and to account for this: You automatically have 4 days of Broadest Form of coverage if purchasing a new vehicle (Meaning even if you only liability on your other vehicle, this new one will have 4 days of comprehensive and collision coverage) additionally if you trade in a vehicle you are given 14 days legally and many insurance companies give up to 30 days to add the replaced vehicle. This does not mean that you are getting free insurance, when we put the new vehicle on the policy we backdate it to the date purchased.
  • I’ve heard that my credit affects my insurance rate, is this true?
    Yes, most insurance companies pull Insurance Score Reports now, which are largely based off of credit. We do not get your credit score or a copy of your credit report as this inquiry is referred to as a “soft hit” meaning that it will not affect your credit score or even show up on your report as an inquiry. You can read more about detailed information by viewing my blog.
  • If I rent a car do I have coverage or do I need to purchase their insurance?
    If you currently have comprehensive and collision coverage then your coverage and deductibles would transfer to any vehicle you would rent (excluding vehicles generally weighing over 2 tons). Now if you do get into a collision or something happens to the rented vehicle, as you would be responsible your insurance company would pay for the repairs but the Rental Car Establishment could charge you for loss of rents; meaning if the car takes 2 weeks to repair, that is two weeks that it would be earning money by being rented and thus could bill you for that “down” time.
  • Can I drive legally without insurance?
    NO! Arizona requires every vehicle owner to maintain insurance coverage with limits no lower than 15k per person/30k per accident in bodily injury and 10k for property damage to others. Although this coverage is not adequate to sufficiently protect you against wage garnishments, civil lawsuits, asset seizures it is sufficient to be compliant with the state laws.
  • What could happen if I drive without insurance?
    The fines for driving without insurance in Arizona are quite severe and can result in the suspension of your driver's license and vehicle registration. Additionally having a lapse in coverage is not only a huge risk but because the risk is so great when someone attempts to get new car insurance after a period of driving without they will experience very high insurance rates.
  • What could happen if I get into an accident and do NOT have enough coverage on my policy to cover the other persons vehicle damage or medical?
    This is a very realistic situation that many people find themselves in. Although the state only requires minimum coverage's this does not protect you against civil action. The other party can take you to court and if the court deems appropriate they can garnish your wages up to 20% before taxes to pay back the other party, they can also seize and sell any assets you own to pay the restitution. Additionally if the other persons insurance company pays out, the insurance company through a legal act called "subrogation" can take you to court to be reimbursed and the above information would hold true as well for them.